Site Search  

History of the BCTF

The BC Teachers' Federation was formed as an organization in 1917 and incorporated as a benevolent society in 1919. J. George Lister was the first president, serving from 1917-1918. The BCTF achieved full collective bargaining rights in 1987, and lost the right to strike in 2001 when the BC Liberal government passed essential services legislation.

The history of the organization illustrates its effectiveness in working for the rights of teachers and students in promoting public education.

The BCTF Online Museum contains extensive history information including:

History of the BCTF  — excerpt from the 2017-18 BCTF Members' Guide

  • FacebookYouTubeTwitter
  • TeachBC
  • BCTF Online Museum
  • BCTF Advantage