Site Search  
RSS feed  

News Release Archives

BCTF Advantage

Vancouver-At the 101st BC Teachers' Federation Annual General Meeting, Glen Hansman of Vancouver Elementary was re-elected for a second one-year term as President. In addition, First Vice-President Teri Mooring from Quesnel and Second Vice-President Clint Johnston from Chilliwack were also re-elected to continue in their respective positions. 

“I am very grateful to BC teachers for their ongoing support as we navigate the final steps in implementing our restored collective agreement,” said Hansman. “For 15 long years, we have been fighting for our rights and our students' learning conditions. It is an honour to lead the Federation at this historic moment when we get to see our win at the Supreme Court of Canada implemented.

“In the coming months, we will continue our push to ensure the BC government fulfills its promise to fully fund the costs of our restored working and learning conditions. As the May 9 provincial election rapidly approaches, BC teachers will also work with parents to raise awareness on issues like seismic safety, funding for the revised curriculum, reducing waitlists for assessments of students with special needs, and overcrowding in growing districts.”

Also elected to serve as Members-at-Large on the BCTF Executive Committee were:   

Rory Brown, Vancouver Secondary
Rae Figursky, Burnaby
Shawn Gough, Vancouver Island North
Carolyn Pena, North Vancouver
Jody Polukoshko, Vancouver Elementary

They join current Members-at-Large Carole Gordon from Central Okanagan, Kip Wood from Nanaimo, and Robin Tosczak from Victoria.

Delegates at the Annual General Meeting carried numerous motions related to recruitment and retention, privacy of student information, and appropriate use of technology in schools, as well as a statement of principles protecting rights of transgender students and teachers. 

The AGM also carried structural changes to the provincial Executive Committee that will take effect at next year's meeting. Designated equity seats have been created for members identifying as Aboriginal and as racialized. 

-  30  -

For more information, contact Rich Overgaard, BCTF media relations officer, at 604-871-1881 (office) or 604-340-1959 (cell).

  • FacebookYouTubeTwitter
  • TeachBC
  • BCTF Online Museum
  • BCTF Advantage