Site Search  
RSS feed  

News Release Archives

BCTF Online Museum
BCTF Advantage

Irene Lanzinger, president of the British Columbia Teachers’ Federation, has been acclaimed for another one-year term as the head of the province’s 40,000 public school teachers.

Also elected by acclamation were current First Vice-President Susan Lambert and Second Vice-President Jim Iker, who will serve a second one-year term in these roles.

In her acceptance speech, Lanzinger thanked the delegates for their support and said she was honoured to be their spokesperson.

“Teachers in British Columbia have amazing courage,” she said. “They are tremendously dedicated to their students and they are willing to take a stand on behalf of public education.”

Four other teachers were elected to serve as members-at-large: Michelle Davies (Kelowna), Fred Robertson (Vancouver Island North), Robert Tarswell (Princeton), and Gail Chaddock-Costello (Langley).

They will join Becky Blair (Creston), Carole Gillis (Kamloops), Patricia Gudlaugson (Vancouver), and Jill McCaffery (Parksville-Qualicum), to comprise the 11-member Executive Committee.

Leadership of teachers’ federation reaffirmed

-  30  -

For more information, contact Kathleen MacKinnon, BCTF media relations officer, at 604-871-1881 (office) or 604-340-1959 (cell).

  • FacebookTwitterYouTube
  • TeachBC
  • BCTF Online Museum
  • BCTF Advantage